Inside The Industry



A month after the release of the single “Strawberry”, Grammy award winning R&B group 112 returns with the follow up single “Dangerous Games.” The track serves as the first single from the group’s highly anticipated forthcoming album “Q, Mike, Slim, Daron”, due out on Entertainment One this fall. On “Dangerous Games”, the group returns to the soulful balladry that made them one of the most successful acts of the 1990s. The track finds the fellas scouring the highs and lows of love with allusions of games of chance.  Playing with fire is a dangerous game, but don’t tell that to the members of 112, as they have a sure fire hit on their hands with this number. 112 is known for the hits “Cupid”, “Only You”, “Come See Me”. “Love Me” featuring Mase, “Anywhere”, “It’s Over Now”, “Peaches & Cream” “Hot & Wet” and “U Already Know.” 112 is currently preparing for a world tour, which is slated to begin in the U.K. in September before coming back to the U.S. in October. Fans should watch for an announcement regarding tour dates. Envogue  continues to deliver exciting performances after 30 years in the music industry. During last week’s episode of “Boy Band”, Envogue, Cindy Herron, Terry Ellis and Rhona Bennett, took the stage to perform their hit “Free Your Mind.” The R&B veterans gave an energetic performance and showed the boy band hopefuls how to embody chemistry on stage.

21 Savage And Metro Boomin To Release Collaborative Project


The follow up to 21 Savage and Metro Boomin’s critically acclaimed “Savage Mode”  is on the way. The original mixtape was released in 2016, and now it appears that a sequel is in the works three years later. 21 Savage brought Metro Boomin out during a Los Angeles concert over the weekend, and before leaving the stage, he revealed that “Savage Mode 2” is coming soon. 2016’s “Savage Mode” contained the tracks “No Heart” and “X.” The project has been certified gold by the RIAA. The two have collaborated previously, so the forthcoming album should be worth the wait.



Hip Hop Pick Of The Week: ‘Pose To Do-Lil Pump Ft. French Montana & Quavo

This song is the property of Warner Records.

Gazzy Garcia, known professionally as Lil Pump, is an American rapper/songwriter from Miami, FL. Garica’s music career began when producer Smokepurpp asked him to freestyle over a track he produced. The result was Garcia’s debut single “Lil Pump”, which was released independently in 2016 on Soundcloud. Garcia followed that effort up with the singles “Elementary”, “Ignorant”, “Gang Shit” and “Drum$tick”, each garnering over three million streams. The success of those tracks earned Garcia recognition among the South Florida underground rap scene, a style known as “Soundcloud rap.” Garcia begin 2017 by releasing the singles “D Rose” and “Boss”, both of which were hits on Soundcloud, earning over 70 million streams. On October 6, 2017, Garcia released his debut album “Lil Pump.” Garcia released  “Harvard Dropout” in 2019.


R&B Pick Of The Week: North Florida Flow-Terry Bright

This song is the property of Terry Bright.

Terry Bright is an American singer/songwriter from Pensacola, FL. In 2017, he released his debut mixtape “Owl”, which featured the singles “Eye 2 Eye”, “Fool’s Paradise” and “I.”  The crooner has also opened for R&B veteran Mya. Bright’s next project, “Relationships Aren’t Everything”, will be released in September.

Hip Hop Spotlight: Sill-Maxo Kream

This song is the property of RCA Records.

Emekwanem Ogugua Biosah Jr., known professionally as Maxo Kream, is an American rapper/songwriter/producer from Houston, TX.  He began his career while in high school as a member of the group Kream Clicc. He garnered recognition in 2012 following the release of a remix of Kendrick Lamar’s “Rigamortus” on You Tube. The mixtapes “Retro Card” and “Quicc Strikes” pushed him into the limelight, earning over 85,000 streams on his LiveMixtapes. In 2018, he released his debut album “Punken.”

Inside The Industry


Singer/songwriter Terry Bright steps into the spotlight with the single and cinematic film “North Florida Flow.” The Pensacola, FL native began singing in church at age 13. As his passion for music grew, he acquired a skill for songwriting and recorded his first song at age 19. In 2017, he released the mixtape “Owl”, which featured the singles “Eye 2 Eye”, “Fools Paradise” and “I.” The crooner has also opened for R&B veteran Mya. Bright describes himself as an artsy, alternative R&B artist. Bright enjoys creating songs with a funky tradition to grab listener’s attention. The TSU alum has an immense appreciation for film and the arts that translates throughout the visuals of his songs. The uptempo number “North Florida Flow” is a celebration of Bright’s Florida roots. The song’s heavy bass and throbbing rhythm encourages listeners to dance along. The visual shows Bright and friends enjoying the culture that Florida has to offer, highlighting Florida dance moves and wearing paraphernalia from one of Florida’s most popular schools, Florida A&M University. Bright also likes to convey powerful statements in his videos. In the  “North Florida Flow” clip, he displayed what he calls a “black culture” portrait that captured all shades of black skin. This is to indicate that there are diverse shades of skin living throughout the state of Florida. Bright revealed that his next project “Relationships Aren’t Everything” will be released in September. He hopes to combine visual art elements along with the mixtape. In the future, he hopes to continue making music and dabble in the film industry with his writing and  visually creative skills. He’s definitely one to watch. Following his lucrative RCA partnership and Roc Nation management deal earlier this year, rapper Maxo Kream released his major label debut “Brandon Banks”, named after his father, on Friday. The project includes the tracks “Meet Again”, “She Live” and “Still.” Maxo will head out on a headlining tour to support the album this fall. The Brandon Banks Tour will begin on Oct. 16 at the Parish at the House of Blues. The North American trek will also make stops in Houston, Dallas, Washington, DC, Philadelphia, Boston, Denver, San Francisco and more. Check the tour out when it comes to your area.


Hip Hop Spotlight: On Chill-Wale Ft. Jeremih

This song is the property of Warner Records.

Olubowale Victor Akintimehin, known professionally as Wale, is an American rapper. He rose to prominence in 2006 when his single “Dig Dug (Shake It)”, became a regional hit. He garnered local recognition and continued making music for the regional audience. In 2006, Akintimehin was discovered by producer Mark Ronson, who signed him to Allido Records. While with the label, Akintimehin released several mixtapes  and appeared in national media, including MTV and various Black-American-focused magazines. In 2008, Akintimehin signed with Interscope Records. In 2009, he released his debut album, “Attention Deficit.” He has also released the albums “Ambition” (2011), “The Gifted” (2013), “The Album About Nothing” (2015) and “Shine” (2017).

R&B Spotlight: Pleasure-Daron Jones

This song is the property of DPS Productions.

Daron Jones is an American singer/songwriter/producer from Atlanta, GA. He rose to prominence as a member of the R&B quartet 112, who charted with “Cupid”, “Only You”, “Come See Me”, “Love Me” and “You Already Know” among others. In December 2010, Jones released his debut solo album “Uncensored.” Shortly thereafter, he released the EPs “The Unofficial Diary Of Daron Jones Vol. 1” and “The Unofficial Diary Of Daron Jones Vol. 2”, both of which consisted of remakes of R&B classics. He has written and produced songs for Pink, Usher, The Notorious B.I.G., The Isley Brothers, and more. He released the album “Human” earlier this year.