Disclaimer: This song is the property of Zomba Recordings LLC.

DJ Jazzy Jeff and The Fresh Prince were an American hip hop duo from West Philadelphia, PA who rose to prominence during the 1980s. DJ Jazzy Jeff (Jeff Townes) and The Fresh Prince (Will Smith) met by chance in 1985. Townes was performing at a house party, but was missing his hype man. Smith decided to fill in The two felt a strong chemistry, and Townes was upset when his hype man finally made it to the party. Shortly thereafter, the two decide to join forces. Smith enlisted a friend, Ready Rock C, to join the group as a beat boxer, although he was never credited to the group, just a supporting live member. In 1985, Philadelphia based Word Up Records released the duo’s first single “Girls Ain’t Nothing But Trouble”, a funny tale of  the misadventures that landed Smith and his former DJ Mark Forrest in trouble. The song sampled the theme song from the sitcom “I Dream Of Jeannie.”  Smith became known for lighthearted, profanity free, battle rhymes. The some became a hit before his high school graduation. Based on this success, the duo was brought to the attention of Jive Records and Russell Simmons. The duo’s debut album, “Rock The House”, which had been released on Word Up 1986, was released via Jive Records in 1987. The album sold 300,00 units. That same year, the duo toured with Run-DMC, Public Enemy and others. Their follow up album, “He’s The DJ, I’m The Rapper”, made them stars. Recorded primarily in the United Kingdom, it was hip hops’ first double album. The first single, “Parents Just Don’t Understand”,  made them MTV stars and earned hip hop its first Grammy award. They went on to release the albums “And In This Corner” (1989), “Homebase” (1991) and “Code Red” (1993).