This song is the property of Columbia Records.

Earth Wind & Fire is an American soul/R&B band that rose to prominence during the 1970s. The origins of the band began in 1969 when leader Maurice White, a former drummer for Chess Records, and former member of the Ramsey Lewis Trio, joined friends Wade Flemons and Don Whitehead as a songwriting team composing songs and commercials in Chicago. The three friends signed a recording contract with Capitol Records. Calling themselves The Salty Peppers, they went on to have a marginal hit in the Midwest titled “La La Time.” Their next single, “Uh Huh Yeah”, didn’t do as well. Maurice White then moved from Chicago to Los Angeles. He  added vocalist Sherry Scott and percussionist Yackov Ben Israel to the band and asked brother Verdine how he felt about moving to the West Coast. On June 6, 1970, Verdine White left Chicago for Los Angeles to join the band as their bassist. A short time later, Maurice White began shopping demo tapes of the band, featuring Donny Hathaway, to record labels and the band was signed to Warner Bros. Records. Maurice White then changed the band’s name to Earth Wind & Fire and held auditions  adding Michael Beale (guitar), Chester Washington (reeds) and Leslie Drayton (trumpet) to the group’s lineup. Maurice White served as the band’s percussionist while Drayton served as the band’s lead vocalist and musical director. The band’s self-titled debut Warner Bros. album was released in February 1971. They also performed the soundtrack to the film “Sweet Sweetback’s Baadassss Song.” The group’s sophomore effort, “The Need Of Love”, was released in November 1971. At this time, the band developed a following on college campuses, but despite that, some band members became restless  and the group broke up after less than six months together. With only brother Verdine left, Maurice White reformed the band. In 1972, White added vocalist Helena Davis, saxophonist Ronnie Laws, guitarist Roland Bautista, keyboardist Larry Dunn, vocalist Philip Bailey and percussionist Ralph Johnson to the group. Davis was replaced by Jessica Cleaves, a former member of the R&B group the Friends Of Distinction. The band’s Warner Bros. contract was bought by Columbia Records after a performance in New York City. Their debut Columbia Records album, “Last Days In Time”, was released in October 1972. It featured the single “Mom.”  Shortly thereafter, Roland Bautista and Ronnie Laws left the band to pursue other musical opportunities. Saxophonist Andrew Woolfolk, Ralph Johnson and Johnny Graham were added. Earth Wind & Fire’s fourth studio effort, “Head To The Sky”, was released in May 1973. In 1974, “Open Our Eyes” was released. It featured the singles “Mighty Mighty” and “Devotion.” Earth Wind & Fire went on to release several stellar albums during it’s career. They include: “That’s The Way Of The World” (1975), “Spirit” (1976), “All ‘N All” (1977), “I am” (1979), “Faces” (1980), “Raise!” (1981), “Powerlight” (1983), “Electric Universe” (1983), “Touch The World” (1987), “Heritage” (1990), “Millennium” (1993), “In The Name Of Love” (1997), “The Promise” (2003), “Illumination” (2005), “Now, Then & Forever” (2013) and “Holiday” (2014). Band leader Maurice White died on February 4, 2016 of Parkinson’s disease.