This song is the property of Def Jam Recordings.

Public Enemy is an American hip hop group from Long Island, New York. The group was formed in the mid 1980s by Carlton “Chuck D” Ridenhour and William “Flavor Flav” Drayton when both were students at Adelphi University. The group, then billed as Chuck D and Spectrum City, recorded the single “Check Out The Radio/Lies”, a social commentary which would influence Run-DMC and the Beastie Boys. Chuck D released a tape to promote WBAU, where he worked at the time, and to fend off an MC who wanted to battle him. He titled the tape “Public Enemy #1” because he felt he was being persecuted by people in the local scene. The song was assembled with the assistance of Flavor Flav before Public Enemy was formed. Public Enemy was signed to Def Jam Records in 1986. Chuck D recruited Hank Shocklee, Keith Shocklee and Eric “Vietam” Sadler to form the production team the Bomb Squad. Another Spectrum City partner, Richard “Professor Griff” Griffin, along with William “Flavor Flav” Drayton and mobile DJ Norman “Terminator X” Rogers became Public Enemy. They released their debut album “Yo! Bum Rush The Show” to critical acclaim in 1987. They opened for the Beastie Boys shortly thereafter. In 1988, they released the album “It Takes A Nation Of Millions To Hold Us Back”, which sold better than their previous effort and featured the singles “Don’t Believe The Hype” and “Bring The Noise.” They also released the albums “Fear Of A Black Planet” (1990), “Apocalypse 91… The Enemy Strikes Black” (1991), “Muse Sick-n-Hour Mess Age” (1994), “He Got Game” (1998), “There’s A Poison Going On” (1999), “Revolverlution” (2002), “New Whirl Odor” (2005), “Rebirth Of A Nation” (2006), “How You Sell Your Soul To A Souless People Who Sold Their Soul?” (2007), “Most Of My Heroes Don’t Appear On No Stamp” (2012), “The Evil Empire Of Everything” (2012), “Man Plans God Laughs” (2015) and “Nothing Is Quick In The Desert” (2017).