Hip Hop Spotlight: U Played-Moneybagg Yo Ft. Lil Baby

This song is the property of N-Less Entertainment/Interscope Records.

Demarlo Dwayne White Jr., known professionally as Moneybagg Yo, is an American rapper/songwriter. In 2012, White released the mixtapes “From The Block 2 Da Booth” and “October 20th.” In 2016, he released three more, one of which received a Memphis Hip Hop Award for Mixtape of the Year. “Federal Reloaded”, which was a revision of the Federal series, featured special guest appearances by Y Grizzie, Young Dolph and OG Boo Dirty, among others. The followup, “ELO (Everybody Lives On)”, included special guest appearances by Yo Gotti and Quavo of Migos. White released his debut album “Reset” in November 2018. His sophomore effort, “43va Heartless”, was released in May 2019. His third effort, “Time Served”, was released January 10, 2020.


R&B Spotlight: Something To Believe-Renee Neuville

This song is the property of WJ3 Records.

Renee Neuville is an American singer/songwriter. She began her career as a member of the R&B duo Zane, which charted with the 90’s hits “Hey Mr. DJ” and “Groove Thang.” The duo parted ways shortly thereafter. Neuville has worked with such artists as Roy hargrove. Her latest single, “Something To Believe”, is a tribute to the late trumpeter.

Inside The Industry

Legendary singer Billy Ocean is returning to the studio after a long hiatus. Not only that, he’s reuniting with a legendary producer, and he’s wrapping this up into a historic birthday event to boot. The Tinidad born, London native has been a mainstay in popular music for five decades, and he’s still going strong. Ocean received the Ivor Award for his contributions to the UK music scene in 2018, and he’s bringing his brand of soul, funk, and pop into a new decade. Now prepared to release his first project in a decade, Ocean delivers the single “One World.” The vibrant track, which is the first single from Ocean’s forthcoming album set for a Spring 2020 release, fits Ocean’s upbeat vocal approach and echos such 80’s hits as “Caribbean Queen” and “Get Out Of My Dreams.” Producer Barry Eastmond, who produced the aforementioned  tracks, returns to the producer’s chair for “One World.” Ocean sings about how love around the world should be exhibited. Welcome back Billy. You’ve been away too long.

Wale & Bryson Tiller Join Forces In Teyana Taylor Directed Love (Her Fault) Video

Shortly before hitting the road for his North American tour, rapper Wale unveiled the visual for his latest single “Love (Her Fault)”, which was released yesterday, and features singer Bryson Tiller. The video was directed by singer Teyana Taylor for her Aunties production company. The clip tells the story of a toxic relationship between Wale and his significant other, which finds Tiller intertwined in the messy drama. Wale’s girlfriend heads to a club following a heated argument and begins to fraternize on the dance floor. Tiller sees what’s happening and calls his friend to have the DMV native come to save his relationship before any further damage is done. The rapper launched his “Everything Is Fine Tour” in Brooklyn on Wednesday. Watch “Love (Her Fault)” below.

This song is the property of Warner Records.

Hip Hop Pick Of The Week: The Box-Roddy Ricch

This song is the property of Atlantic Records.

Roderick Wayne Moore Jr., known professionally as Roddy Ricch, is an American rapper/singer/songwriter/producer from Compton, CA. In November 2017, Moore released his debut mixtape, “Feed The Streets”, which featured the singles “Chase Tha Bag”, “Hoodricch” and “Fucc It Up.” The project earned him praise from Meek Mill, Nipsey Hussle, DJ Mustard and 03 Greedo. In March 2018, Moore released the EP “Be 4 Tha Fame.” On December 6, 2019, Moore released his full length debut album “Please Excuse Me For Being Antisocial.”

R&B Pick Of The Week: Come Thru-Summer Walker Ft. Usher

This song is the property of LVRN Records.

Summer Walker is an American singer/songwriter from Atlanta, GA. Walker was discovered by the studio manager of Atlanta based label Love Renaissance. On October 19, 2018, Walker released the mixtape “Last Day Of Summer”, which featured the single “Girls Need Love.” The project contained Walker’s thoughts on love, doubt and womanhood. Following the release of her mixtape, Walker was named Up Next new artist and #8 R&B artist worldwide across Apple Music. On January 25, 2019, Walker released  her debut EP “Clear”, which contained four tracks of acoustic recordings. On February 27, 2019, Walker released the remix of the single “Girls Need Love”, which featured rapper Drake. On October 4, 2019, Walker released her full length debut album “Over It.”

Roddy Rich Scores First Number One On Billboard Hot R&B/Hip Hop Songs Chart

Rapper Roddy Rich scores his first number one on Billboard’s Hot R&B/Hip Hop Songs chart as his latest single, “The Box”, rises from No. 3 on the chart dated Jan. 11. The track also ascended to No. 1 on the Hot Rap Songs chart and rose from No. 13-3 on the Billboard Hot 100. “The Box” leads thanks to its streaming supremacy. The single rose from 6-1 to rule the Streaming Songs chart for the first time through 42. 6 million U.S. clicks in the week ending Jan. 2, according to Nielsen Music, up from 15% from the week prior. The streaming total helped “The Box” remain at No. 1 on both the R&B/Hip Hop Streaming Songs and Rap Streaming Songs lists. “The Box” appears on the rapper’s latest album, “Please Excuse Me For Being Antisocial.” The project debuted at No. 1 on the Top R&B/Hip Hop Albums chart and logged its first three weeks at the summit before slipping to No. 2 during its fourth week frame.

Hip Hop Spotlight: Sum 2 Prove-Lil Baby

This song is the property of Quality Control Music, LLC.

Dominique Armani Jones, known professionally as Lil Baby, is an American rapper/singer/songwriter/producer from Atlanta, GA. He rose to prominence in 2017 following the release of his debut mixtape “Perfect Timing.” The mixtape featured special guest appearances by Lil Yachty and Young Thug, but primarily featured appearances by underground local artists. He followed that effort with the mixtape “Harder Than Hard”, which gave him more notoriety. Jones broke through with the mixtape “Too Hard”, which featured the single “Freestyle.” In May 2018, Jones released his full length debut album “Harder Than Ever”, which debuted at number three on the Billboard 200 chart.